Faculty Awards

M. Elen Deming

In October, 2008, M. Elen Deming was elected First Vice President/President-Elect of the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA). Deming was also named a Fellow of CELA in January 2009.

The American Society of Landscape Architecture 2008 Honor Award in Communications was awarded for the 25th Anniversary of Landscape Journal, edited by M. Elen Deming from 2002 to 2009.

Rebecca Ginsburg

Fall, 2009, the Chancellor's Office of the University of Illinois awarded Rebecca Ginsburg a "Campus Award for Excellence in Public Engagement."

The College of Fine and Applied Arts awarded Rebecca Ginsburg the 2008-2009 Faculty Award for Excellence in Service. The announcement from the College read: "Rebecca Ginsburg, Assistant Professor of Landscape Architecture, in addition to fine teaching and research, fulfills her service obligation to the campus and community in highly innovative ways. Besides a good load of departmental committee work, she has founded and supervises the Education Justice Program to bring UIUC classes to inmates at the Danville State Correctional Center."

Terrence Harkness

At the 2007 ASLA Annual Meeting (San Francisco, CA, October, 2007) Professor Terry Harkness received the Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal. This medal is awarded to "an individual who has made a sustained and significant contribution to landscape architecture education." The full citation underscores how "Harkness' passion for teaching continues to inspire many leading designers in the profession today."

Dianne Harris

At their 2010, 63rd annual meeting in Chicago, the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) elected Dianne Harris as President for a two-year term. SAH is a not-for-profit membership organization and learned society that promotes the study and preservation of the built environment worldwide. With close to 4,000 international members, the Society includes architectural historians, architects, preservationists, students, professionals in allied fields and the interested public. Founded in 1940, membership in SAH is open to everyone, regardless of profession or expertise, who is interested in the study, interpretation, and protection of historically significant buildings, sites, cities, and landscapes.

In 2009, Dianne Harris served as First Vice President of the Society of Architectural Historians (SAH).

Also in 2009, Harris (with co-editor D. Fairchild Ruggles) was awarded the Allen G. Noble Award for best edited book from the Pioneer America Society for the book, Sites Unseen: Landscape and Vision. The Society stated that the award was issued for this work because it "represents the best current scholarship in the field of material culture."

Harris is also recognized for her role as guest editor for "Race, Space and the Destabilization of Practice," Volume 26:1 (Spring 2007) of Landscape Journal. This special issue was prominently featured in the 2008 Landscape Journal Honor Award in Communications which was received from the ASLA for the 25th Anniversary of Landscape Journal.

In 2006, Dr. Harris was honored with an Iris Foundation Award given by the Bard Graduate Center "for outstanding scholarly contributions to the history of arts, decorative arts, and cultural history."

David Hays

In 2007-2008, David Hays was honored with the Dumbarton Oaks Fellowship for Studies in Landscape Architecture.

In 2006, the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) awarded him the Excellence in Studio Design Award.

Laura Lawson

Laura Lawson was awarded the "FAA Faculty Award for Excellence in Service 2009-2010." The College noted that she "has demonstrated sustained excellence in service to the public of underserved communities for over two decades, not to mention her great service to the community of faculty, students, and administrators in her Department, College, and Campus. She has been a productive and courageous leader of the East St. Louis Action Research Project during a time of great challenges, establishing new partnerships and deepening previous ones. And what we are here calling 'service' is actually the epitome of what our College calls 'action research' where service and scholarly activity directly benefit each other."

In 2010, Greening Cities, Growing Communities: Lessons from Seattle's Urban Community Gardens, co-authored by Jeff Hou, Julie Johnson, and Laura Lawson (University of Washington Press, 2009) received an EDRA/Great Places Book Award. From 66 submittals, seven awards were given in the categories of design, planning, research, and books. The Great Places Awards are co-sponsored with PLACES Journal in cooperation with Metropolis magazine. The awards recognize professional and scholarly excellence in environmental design. Now in its 14th year, the program is distinguished by its interdisciplinary focus, its concern for human factors in the design of the built environment, and its commitment to promoting links between design research and practice.

On November 11, 2009, under the direction of Laura Lawson, the East St. Louis Action Research Project was honored as a recipient of the inaugural Larine Y. Cowan "Make A Difference Award." This award recognizes and honors university programs and individuals that demonstrate exceptional dedication to and success in promoting diversity and inclusivity through teaching, research, hiring practices, courses, programs, and events.

D. Fairchild Ruggles

On February 15, 2010, D. Fairchild Ruggles was named one of six Urbana campus University Scholars. Called the "highest recognition we bestow on our faculty" by a former University of Illinois president, this honor and award "recognizes excellence while helping to identify and retain the university's most talented teachers, scholars, and researchers." In its description of Ruggles, the University News Service stated: "Beyond the impact of her original research in the field of Islamic landscape and garden history, Ruggles also has made important contributions to a synthetic, interdisciplinary understanding of the ways that cultural and environmental systems intersect, and why that understanding continues to be important and useful today. In her prolific body of original research, Ruggles has almost single-handedly redefined Islamic landscape studies, and established an alternative, more synthetic, and sophisticated framework for understanding Islamic cultural and technological heritage."

In 2009, The Foundation for Landscape Studies awarded D. Fairchild Ruggles the J. B. Jackson Book Prize for her book Islamic Gardens and Landscapes.

Also in 2009, Ruggles (with co-editor Dianne Harris) was awarded the Allen G. Noble Award for best edited book from the Pioneer America Society for the book, Sites Unseen: Landscape and Vision. The Society stated that the award was issued for this work because it "represents the best current scholarship in the field of material culture."

Amita Sinha

In Spring 2009, Amita Sinha was a Senior Fulbright Scholar in New Delhi, India. She was affiliated with Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage (INTACH) where she engaged in a number of projects including listing and mapping of natural heritage sites and organizing a symposium on environmental heritage of Delhi. She was also researching the National Archives and Archaeological Survey of India documents for her forthcoming book on heritage landscapes in India. She lectured at Indian Institute of Technology, Jamia-Milia University, and the School of Planning and Architecture in Delhi. She presented at the Modern Asian Architecture Network Conference and the Sacred Arts Festival, both held in Delhi.

On September 27, 2007, Professor Amita Sinha was presented with a plaque of recognition by the Eco-Development Foundation, New Delhi, India for "major contributions to research on and raising awareness of cultural landscapes of South Asia."