Faculty Directory

Reflecting the increasing breadth and complexity of the profession itself, the academic staff includes scholars and practitioners in landscape architecture, social and educational psychology, ecology, architecture, environmental engineering, geography, architecture and landscape architecture history, and urban and regional planning. Almost two-thirds hold doctoral degrees.

Opportunities for independent and interdisciplinary study are available in all these areas. Such diverse academic pursuits contribute to a dynamic educational environment and complement the diversity of the students themselves, who come from a variety of backgrounds.

Faculty and other academic staff in the Department of Landscape Architecture devote varying portions of their time to teaching, research, and public service at the undergraduate and graduate levels. They bring to the Department, professional experience from a variety of regions across the United States and degrees earned from the Universities of Chicago, Illinois, Ohio, Washington, Georgia, California, Arizona, Manchester, Miami, as well as Stanford, Harvard, Colorado State, MIT, SUNY and Mount Mary.

In addition to the permanent faculty, the Department brings in prominent educators and visiting practitioners in landscape architecture and related disciplines as lecturers and studio critics for periods varying from one day, half semesters, to a year. The following table lists academic staff of the department. Select a staff member's name to link to their bio or web page.

Academic Staff
Name Title Email Office Phone
Bellafiore, Vincent Professor Emeritus   101 TBH 217-333-0176
Deming, M. Elen Professor medeming@illinois.edu M218 TBH 217-244-1700
Emmerling-DiNovo, Carol Assistant Head
Academic Advisor
cemmer@illinois.edu 101C TBH 217-244-0994
Ginsburg, Rebecca Associate Professor rginsbur@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-265-6737
Harkness, Terence Professor Emeritus tharknes@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0176
Harris, Dianne Professor harris3@illinois.edu 220 TBH 217-333-7727
Hays, David Associate Professor,
MLA Curriculum Committe Chair
dlhays@illinois.edu M212 TBH 217-244-8235
Kim, Jinki Assistant Professor jinkikim@illinois.edu 308 TBH 217-244-8658
Kovacic, David Professor Emeritus dkovacic@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0176
217-244-9680
Riley, Robert Professor Emeritus rbriley@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0175
Ruggles, D. Fairchild Professor
PhD Program Chair
dfr1@illinois.edu 222 TBH 217-333-9279
Schneider, Daniel Interim Head ddws@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0176
Sears, Stephen Associate Professor
Associate Head
ssears@illinois.edu 310 TBH 217-333-1720
Sinha, Amita Professor sinha2@illinois.edu M214 TBH 217-333-2437
Sullivan, William Professor
wcsulliv@illinois.edu 326 TBH 217-333-4178

Faculty Affiliates
Name Title Email
Anderson, James R. Professor, Architecture jimand@illinois.edu
Anthony, Kathryn H. Professor, Architecture kanthony@illinois.edu
Bartlett, Tim Visiting Lecturer tabartlett@urbanaparks.org
Fennell, Christopher C. Associate Professor, Anthropology cfennell@illinois.edu
Hamlin, Lawrence Instructor, Architecture lhamlin@illinois.edu
Henson, Jessica Visiting Landscape Designer in Residence jhenson@illinois.edu
Hopkins, Lewis D. Professor Emeritus, Urban & Regional Planning l-hopkins@illinois.edu
Jakle, John A. Professor Emeritus, Geography jjakle@illinois.edu
Osler, Peter Visiting Assistant Professor posler@illinois.edu
Schleicher, Barbara Visiting Lecturer bschleic@life.illinois.edu
Silverman, Helaine Professor, Anthropology helaine@illinois.edu
Stewart, William P. Professor, Recreation, Sport and Tourism wstewart@illinois.edu
Urban, James Visiting Lecturer jurban@illinois.edu
Weiss, Andrew Visiting Instructor andrew.weiss@cparkdistrict.com