Faculty Directory

Reflecting the increasing breadth and complexity of the profession itself, the academic staff includes scholars and practitioners in landscape architecture, social and educational psychology, ecology, architecture, environmental engineering, geography, architecture and landscape architecture history, and urban and regional planning. Almost two-thirds hold doctoral degrees.

Opportunities for independent and interdisciplinary study are available in all these areas. Such diverse academic pursuits contribute to a dynamic educational environment and complement the diversity of the students themselves, who come from a variety of backgrounds.

Faculty and other academic staff in the Department of Landscape Architecture devote varying portions of their time to teaching, research, and public service at the undergraduate and graduate levels. They bring to the Department, professional experience from a variety of regions across the United States and degrees earned from the Universities of Chicago, Illinois, Ohio, Washington, Georgia, California, Arizona, Manchester, Miami, as well as Stanford, Harvard, Colorado State, MIT, SUNY and Mount Mary.

In addition to the permanent faculty, the Department brings in prominent educators and visiting practitioners in landscape architecture and related disciplines as lecturers and studio critics for periods varying from one day, half semesters, to a year. The following table lists academic staff of the department. Select a staff member's name to link to their bio or web page.

Academic Staff
Name Title Email Office Phone
Deming, M. Elen Professor medeming@illinois.edu M218 TBH 217-244-1700
Emmerling-DiNovo, Carol Assistant Head
Academic Advisor
cemmer@illinois.edu 101C TBH 217-244-0994
Ginsburg, Rebecca Associate Professor rginsbur@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-265-6737
Harkness, Terence Professor Emeritus tharknes@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0176
Harris, Dianne Professor harris3@illinois.edu 220 TBH 217-333-7727
Hays, David Associate Professor,
MLA Curriculum Committee Chair
dlhays@illinois.edu 320 TBH 217-244-8235
Henson, Jessica Clinical Professor jhenson@illinois.edu M222 TBH 217-300-1139
Hlimi, Tawab Visiting Designer in Residence --- 308 TBH ---
Jiang, Bin Visiting Instructor jiang25@illinois.edu 332 TBH ---
Kovacic, David Professor Emeritus dkovacic@illinois.edu 101 TBH 217-333-0176
217-244-9680
Mattson, Mary Pat Assistant Professor --- M212 TBH ---
Riley, Robert Professor Emeritus rbriley@illinois.edu 330 TBH 217-333-0175
Ruggles, D. Fairchild Professor
PhD Program Chair
Interim Department Head
dfr1@illinois.edu 222 TBH
101E TBH
217-333-9279
Sears, Stephen Associate Professor ssears@illinois.edu 310 TBH 217-333-1720
Sinha, Amita Professor sinha2@illinois.edu M214 TBH 217-333-2437
Sullivan, William Professor
wcsulliv@illinois.edu 326 TBH 217-333-4178
Urban, James Visiting Lecturer jurban@illinois.edu 330 TBH 217-300-8240

Faculty Affiliates
Name Title Email
Anderson, James R. Professor, Architecture jimand@illinois.edu
Anthony, Kathryn H. Professor, Architecture kanthony@illinois.edu
Fennell, Christopher C. Associate Professor, Anthropology cfennell@illinois.edu
Hamlin, Lawrence Instructor, Landscape Architecture lhamlin@illinois.edu
Hopkins, Lewis D. Professor Emeritus, Urban & Regional Planning l-hopkins@illinois.edu
Jakle, John A. Professor Emeritus, Geography jjakle@illinois.edu
Silverman, Helaine Professor, Anthropology helaine@illinois.edu
Stewart, William P. Professor, Recreation, Sport and Tourism wstewart@illinois.edu